Writing Influences/Book Series That I Love: Part One

Series. I love series. To me, nothing is worse than falling in love with a character (or characters) and after you finish the book, there is nevermore. Don’t get me wrong, not every book needs or deserves to have a sequel (or be part of a trilogy or a series) just like the movies.

I can honestly say that I haven’t read many of the masterpieces, you know, the classics, like the ones that they make you read in school. Reading to me needs to be an enjoyment, so I read what I like (and I like many different genres). So I decided to share the book series (because series just seem to captivate me the most) that I have fallen in love with throughout the years.

Choose Your Adventure     In elementary school, i discovered these books and they quickly became a favorite of mine. I would sometimes cheat and flip to both continuations to see which was better (who didn’t??). I loved that you could read the book multiple times.

Shel Silverstein (Where The Sidewalk EndsA Light In The Attic)     I think it was these two books which developed my love for poetry. I really need to get a copy of these two books.

R.L. Stine (specifically the Fear Street series)     Yep, and I still love RL Stine today. Did you know the Fear Street series is making a comeback, and the first book is going to be set around Halloween time (I love everything October/Halloween). At the time in middle school, you were either a RL Stine fan or a Christopher Pike one. I read ever Fear Street book out there, several times. My biggest regret was donating away my collection (minus the Cheerleaders ones and the Halloween ones), but hopefully they have been enjoyed by others out there, I think I wrote my name in most of them. Stine has written a few adult books as well, the most recent, Red Rain was fantastic. I never read the Goosebumps series besides a few of them, because they were just too young.

The Body of Evidence series by Christopher Golden     This series I believe I started reading the summer after high school. This series centers a girl who is starting college where her father is a professor, ends up with a job working with a medical examiner, and helps with autopsies and solving murders. I was very sad when this series ended, and just ended without really a wrap-up. Highly recommend this series.

The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer     I was late to the party on this series. I started reading Twilight well after the first movie was out. I love vampires.

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling     I was late to the party on this series as well. I started it after the 4th or 5th movie was out. So, I bought a boxed set from Target. I would read a book, then watch the movie. I probably should have allowed a bit of more time in between to let the books really sink in, but I was on a mission.

And for a few more adult series in which has become a new obsession…

Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

The Crossfire Series by Sylvia Day

The Beautiful Bastard Series by Christina Lauren

4 comments on “Writing Influences/Book Series That I Love: Part One

  1. Choose your own adventure! I was obsessed with those as a kid. And “Goosebumps.” Did you ever read any of R.L. Stine’s own choose your own adventure books?

    I actually didn’t read Harry Potter until I was in college. I had a unique advantage, having only had to wait a year for the last two books to come out. The first five I got to read, all in rapid-fire succession! 😀

    • No, I didn’t know of RL Stine having any choose your own adventure, I’ll have to search for those! I think I was already in high school when Goosebumps came out, if I would have been younger, I would have loved them to death! I read a few, but they were too short for me, I liked watching them on tv though.

Leave a Reply

