First Day of Summer

Summer is officially here! Finally! It seemed to take forever to get here, and you know it will just fly by.

So, today marks the end of an era for me. It was my last working day at a grocery store, where I have been employed for 14 years. The company that owned us sold us to another chain. I decided not to re-apply (which was just a kick in our asses, complete with drug testing and background checks – in which after several owner changes at our company, none ever had us do) for my job. If I chose to, I would have to go back to working Saturday and Sunday in order to get the hours to get health insurance. I worked 7 days a week for over 10 years and decided that I didn’t want to do that again. I’d been working only Saturdays for about 3 years now (which makes it hard to ever ask for the day off because of only working 4 days a month). But on those weekends I had off, it really made it hard to go back the following week. When the news of the selling came out (of course we all found out on the news), I got nervous and scared. But then, I got to thinking, this is only my PT job (I only kept for the insurance – in which now is the downside in that I will have to purchase), and I have actually wanted to quit for many years. So, I feel, that this is actually a blessing in disguise! It is going to be so awesome to have weekends again. I’ll get to have a life (well, sort of, lol) again. And I’m hoping that this will help get me focused more on my writing. I will be gaining 10 or more hours back. Even though I will miss my co-workers dearly, I think this will help me focus on myself a little bit and put my needs first. One day may not seem like much to you, but to me, it really is a lifetime. For those of you with M-F 9-5 jobs, you wouldn’t understand; but to those that work weekends and holidays, you will get it.

Wish me luck in this new adventure called life 🙂

When one door closes, another one opens!

2 comments on “First Day of Summer

  1. I think you made a wise move! And I’ve been there and done that, as far as working one of your weekend days, and you’re right: It is going to be awesome to have your weekends again!

Leave a Reply

