The Journey of Reading a New Book

I’m not sure if anyone else goes through these stages, but sometimes, a lot of the times, reading a book is like riding a roller coaster, with lots of ups and downs.

Beginning: Starting a new book is very exciting! I am pumped. Let’s do this!

Beginning to Half Way: Up until I get to the half way through point, I feel very unaccomplished. It seems like it takes me forever to get to that point. I’m getting a feel for the characters and thinking about what lies ahead for them.

Half Way: The excitement returns!

3/4: When I get about 3/4s of the way through, the adrenaline starts kicking in. The questions start twirling in my head. “I’m almost done!” “What’s going to happen?” “How is it going to be tied up?” It’s like I am in a race and can see the finish line.

The last 10-20 pages: The dreaded last 10-20 pages. It’s almost done! NO! I don’t want it to end! I want more!

The End: I am sad. I have probably enjoyed the story and have fallen in love with a character or two. If the book is part of a series, then it isn’t as much sad because the story continue and so does the lives of the characters.

It’s so funny how when I start a book, I can’t wait to get to the end, even though, when I get to the end, I wish I was just starting it. It’s a vicious little cycle.

Happy Readings!!

By stacyreller Posted in Reading

One comment on “The Journey of Reading a New Book

  1. I SOOO feel this way: “The last 10-20 pages: The dreaded last 10-20 pages. It’s almost done! NO! I don’t want it to end! I want more!”

    I’m partly racing through it, reading it as fast as I can, and partly wanting to slow down and savor it, page-after-page…

Leave a Reply

