The End of Summer is Near

It is hard to believe that once again, summer is almost over. Labor Day officially ends summer for us up here in MN/WI. It doesn’t bother me too much, because fall is the season that I love the most. The crisp, fresh air. The changing and falling of the leaves. Sweatshirt weather. LOVE it. But it sucks to see summer end when you had a really crappy short spring, a short summer, and likely a short fall, with the dreaded long ass winter. Seriously.

It’s been a busy week, and I have been neglectful of my blog. Things will be changing for September. I am going to go back to the blogging every day.

Sunday I went to a little family reunion on my Mom’s side. It was pretty fun. But a long drive.

On Monday, I got out to the MN State Fair. We had some awesome weather, luckily the humidity and dew point dropped. It was in the 80s, sunny, and breezy. Perfection. It was a long day, left the house at 10:30 am and got home about 11:45 pm. About 3 hours total travel time, the rest was spent out at the fairgrounds!!

Wanna know what I ate? I bet you are just dying to know, huh? To me, the fair, is all about the food, lol. I had a fudge puppy (belgian waffle on a stick, coated with chocolate, and then whipped cream and sprinkles or nuts, depending on the type you get); Dole Whip in a cup (the machine wasn’t cold enough for a cone – complete pineapple deliciousness); an orange soda (which I wasn’t too impressed with); lunch was chinese food: fried rice, sweet and sour chicken, and some wontons; then got my cheese-on-a-stick (which is a MUST) and a lemonade; mac and cheese-on-a-stick (which was pretty good, and was now in a cheese coma) and a water, a Jonny pop (which is like a popsicle, basically a smoothie on a stick, I had the choco latte flavor and it was heaven); and finally dinner was french fried beef ravioli with a meatless sauce to dunk in and a diet coke.

And that night, we caught the concert at the Grandstand. It was the “Happy Together Tour 2014” and I was so excited to see it. And it was pretty phenomenal!!! One act, Gary Lewis & The Playboys, couldn’t make it. But we saw: Mitch Ryder & The Detroit Wheels, Mark Farner (formerly of Grand Funk Railroad), Chuck Negron (formerly of Three Dog Night), and Flo & Eddie (The Turtles). It was so awesome!! This (oldies and classic rock) was music I grew up on! It was so so so so so much fun! And I hope they come back next year. This would be considered the first concert I have been too. I have seen other acts on the little stages during the day at the fair, but have never been to the Grandstand for a show. 🙂

Tuesday, I didn’t do a damn thing, but to recover, and walk the dog like 4 times.

Wednesday, I worked the PM half day shift, since my boss was off the day.

Today and tomorrow, normal work days, and then it is Labor Day Weekend!! Wowzers.

One comment on “The End of Summer is Near

Leave a Reply

