The Wizarding World of Harry Potter

Hi Guys!!! It’s been awhile…

I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up To No Good…

Last month, I went on vacation to Florida. Specifically to Universal in Orlando. The main attraction to this trip was The Wizarding World of Harry Potter aka Harry Potter World.

I have wanted to visit WWHP for quite some time. I am a huge fan of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series. I didn’t read the books immediately upon release. I actually didn’t start reading the books until the second to last movie was being released in theaters. (Late to the party again, I know). I bought the series in a paperback collection, and picked up all but the last 2 movies on a Black Friday. But I wouldn’t start reading the books until the following summer. My plan, read one book, then watch the movie, and repeat.

I wasn’t disappointed. The books were fantastic. The movies were awesome. I felt that they did a great job transforming the books into movies and followed them appropriately. Of course, you can’t squeeze everything from the books into the movie, or we would have like a 5 hour movie. So, I got all caught up, and just had to wait for the last movies to be put out on dvd.

When Lifetime aired “Magic Beyond Words: The J.K. Rowling Story,” I fell in love with the story. Now, I’m not sure just how accurate the movie is to the real life story, but, I loved it.

I have not had the chance to re-read the books, in which I would love and plan to some day, I have seen the movies over and over. Every time that ABC Family does a Harry Potter weekend, I am glued to the tv. And I re-watched all the movies the week leading to vacation.

Going to WWHP was not only exciting, but very inspirational (another reason why I really wanted to go). There are no words…. It’s like you are there, at Hogsmeade, at Diagon Alley. The buildings, the stores, the eateries, you are there! You could hear Moaning Myrtle in the women’s restrooms at Hogsmeade. While walking the lines to the rides, there is much to see. Walking through Hogwarts Castle and Gringotts Bank. They are spectacular. The train ride between the two parks (Universal and Universal’s Islands of Adventure) was perfect. It’s a different experience both ways. One of my favorite parts was listening to the reactions of people (especially kids) seeing it for the first time. It was like reliving it as I had just first experienced it. And the Butterbeer….oh that butterbeer….

As a writer, I dream of being able to create such a world, and to have it come to life like that.

If you are a Harry Potter fan, you must get down to Orlando and visit Universal. It is an experience. I cannot wait until I can get down there to visit again.

Mischief Managed!

2 comments on “The Wizarding World of Harry Potter

    • Oh, it is SO worth it. I really can’t wait to get back there. I just wanna grab some butter beer and sit there in Hogsmeade and Diagon Alley and just people watch.

Leave a Reply

