a kidney stone did it

Sorry I have been MIA this past week. I had a terrific day on Saturday, was very productive in cleaning, etc.

Went to bed about Midnight Sat night.

Woke up at 1:00 am Sun morning with that pain. THAT pain.

Lower left back.

The kidney.

Another kidney stone, fabulous. I had one back in October of 2013. So, I quickly went downstairs, grabbed 2 cups of water to drink, to get this thing moving and moving fast. Couple hours into it, the pain exploded, and then, I had to vomit. The pain decreased immediately. Relief. Last time, that was all I needed.

But of course

This time was going to be different.

About 20-30 mins later

The pain came back with a vengeance. This time in the front of my abdomen, in the center, down by the groin. It was so severe and after screaming in pain for a couple more hours (this was much worse than the pain in the back, that stayed but was now a dull pain) and warranted a trip to the ER.

Within 15-20 mins I had the blood drawn and was given IV pain meds, WHAT A RELIEF. Pain from 10 (I’m a pain baby) down to 0. CT scan shower a 2.5 mm stone in the left ureter about to drop into the bladder. Left ER after about 1 1/2 with a few oral pain meds and 2 pills for nauseousness.

Dull back pain for the next few days with some stomach (like when you have the stomach flu or something), and the stone finally passed Wed afternoon. At that point when it was in the bladder, it didn’t hurt, but it was slightly uncomfortable. When it came out, relief, no pain anywhere.

If you have never had a kidney stone, pray you never do!

And if you have, god, I feel you pain.

So, now, I’m back to feeling like a normal person.

How was your week?

2 comments on “a kidney stone did it

Leave a Reply

