Mitch Rapp Is Back

So, earlier this week, I finally finished my ARC (Advanced Reader’s Copy) of The Survivor by Kyle Mills, who has taken over the series since Vince Flynn passed away 2 years ago. I meant to start it sooner, but I wanted to re-read The Last Man before starting The Survivor, and I had a minor setback with being sick last week.

And I wanted to take my time with it, meaning I didn’t want to read it in 2 days or less, even though I could. I just didn’t want to rush it, since it wasn’t Vince (except Chapter 1) and I felt that I couldn’t just get lost in the story, but needed to pay attention to the characters and the story, and all that jazz.

And let me tell you, Kyle Mills has done an incredible job. INCREDIBLE.

If I hadn’t been paying attention, and didn’t know that Vince didn’t write it, I may not have guessed it. Mills has done his research and knows Rapp, and the other characters, inside out. He has captured Vince’s voice.

Mills has taken over the series, making it his own, yet staying true not only to Vince Flynn, but to his characters, and more importantly to his fans.

After Vince passed, many fans would ask me over on VinceFlynnFans twitter if someone would be taking over the series, if I wanted someone to take over the series, or made the comment that they wanted someone to take over the series. At that time, I was against it, I didn’t want the series to continue. I felt that it wouldn’t be Vince’s voice. Yet, last year, shortly after Vince Flynn Day (to be exact), it was announced that Kyle Mills would be taking over. As soon as I saw that email, I got really excited and had a huge grin on my face. Even though the previous year I didn’t want it to continue, and I actually had never heard of Kyle. So, I started to do some research on him. The monthly VF email newsletter started doing Q&A with him. And one of the questions was what books of his to read that are similar to Vince, and one of the suggestions was Fade, so that night I got the kindle edition. And I read it. And I loved it. Months passed, and more Q&A’s made me excited. He was doing tons of research, becoming so familiar with the Rapp series in and out (he was already a Rapp fan). I knew he was the man for the job.

Flash forward to this year. He finished writing the book. The ARCs started coming out. Over at vinceflynn.com you can sign up to become a Mitch Rapp Ambassador. If you become an ambassador, you will receive an ARC. New ambassadors are picked every month until October. So if you are a Vince Flynn / Mitch Rapp fan, head on over and sign up (if you haven’t already).

I got my copy on Wed. I was so excited. And it helped take my mind off of being sick (damn kidney stone). And even though I had my copy, I was jealous of those that already started reading or even already finished their copies. I just couldn’t focus enough to read.

Anywho….

I started it. And finished it. In about 4 days.

AMAZING

There are tears. There are cheers.

I can’t wait until October when ALL the fans will be able to read The Survivor. I guarantee all Rapp fans will love it! 100%

Thank you Kyle Mills, for bringing Mitch Rapp back!

And of course thanks to the best in the business: to everyone at Emily Bestler Books, Atria Books, Simon & Schuster, David Brown, and to the Flynn Family.

10.6.15 #MitchRappIsBack

2 comments on “Mitch Rapp Is Back

Leave a Reply

