Why I Purchased an Erin Condren Life Planner

Yes, I broke down and spent the money on an Erin Condren Life Planner.

Why?

That’s a good question.

So, given my history, as I’ve explained before, I am the type of person that loves to buy the planners, but, I seem to never end up actually using them. I either (a) get the planner and will use if for a week or two, and then stop; or (b) get a planner, but it can’t be used right away, and I sit there all excited waiting to use it, then when the time rolls around, I have forgotten to start using it.

Year after year this happens. There is something about back to school time that I just love and always spend time in these aisles weekly, even purchasing notebooks. I have so many blank notebooks, it is ridiculous.

I’m not sure if I just love the idea of using a planner or if I am fooling myself to think I will actually use it. I loved using them in middle and high school though.

Now onto the Erin Condren planners. I’ve actually been eyeing them for about a year now. But, being $50, it is an expense. The last few months, watching some of my favorite Youtubers using/decorating them, and seeing Instagram posts on the spreads, I caved in. And I ordered one in time for December to help me organize Rappmas that I am doing on my @VinceFlynnFans twitter.

One thing that really attracted me to the EC planner is the vertical layout. All the previous planners I have had, had a horizontal layout. And I think that is part of the problem for me. New for the next year, EC has an hourly layout as well. And I considered it. I actually considered getting one of the At-A-Glance books that we use at work, but the problem with both of those options is they only go from 7am to about 7 or 8pm. I wanted this style to help me organize my “writing”. Yet, I’d need one that goes much later than 8pm. Considering, I am a night owl.

So, I ordered my life planner.

Then, came the searching Etsy for planner stickers. O M G! OBSESSED! I placed many many orders. I received most, but am still waiting on a few. I like having a decorated planner, makes it nice to look at, and relaxing to do it as I plan.

So, then as I was waiting for my planner to arrive, I started searching “plan with me” videos on youtube. I came across videos of people showing how they create stickers using a Cricut or Silhouette machine. Here we go again. Something else for me to get/do. And, noticing some of the Cricut machines on sale in some Black Friday ads, I picked one up. Oh the possibilities…. Not only can I now make my own planner stickers, but I can make stickers for my niece and nephew, and also return address labels, etc.

I haven’t dived into my planner much yet. This week is my first full week. But I have prepped my Rappmas sections. I’m still waiting on a few crucial stickers. And I have already made a few of my own.

But I truly believe I may be sticking with this planner. I really like the layout, just need to figure out how to block it the best for me. I won’t really be able to do that until January. And a lot of people seem to use this planner not only as just a planner, but as a journal/scrapbook as well. This is what I plan on doing as well.

Only time will tell if this planner can change my “planning” ways. We’ll see, but I do have really high hopes though. 🙂

Happy Plannings!

Leave a Reply

