The Catalain Book of Secrets | Thursday Reads

“The Catalain Book of Secrets” by Jessica Lourey

Jessie became one of my favorite authors since I discovered her Murder-by-Month series (which you can find on Amazon here) (she is under Jess for this series). CBS is a novel she started back in 2002, but it was then set aside, until 10 years later she rediscovered it, and finally finished it in 2012. It had been rejected by traditional publishers. Jessie decided to start a Kickstarter project for self-publishing it. I am proud to say I was her first donor! Well, the campaign was successful and on December 12, 2014 it was published. And take a look at this cover! It’s is one of my favorites. Top 3 for sure!

 (pic taken from

Ok, so what is CBS about? Well, let me tell you! It’s a tale of a family of strong women, a family curse, and magic. If you are a fan of Practical Magic or The Craft, you will love this book.

The Catalain’s live in the little town of Faith Falls in Minnesota. The family home is the impressive Queen Anne mansion. Ursula Catalain is the current keeper of the Book of Secrets. Soon, the ghost of a man she murdered when she was 12 appears at her door in a new form.During this time, Ursula’s daughters Jasmine and Katrine are pulled back home. The Catalain women [Ursula, Xenia & Helena (her sisters), Velda (her mother), Jasmine, Katrine, and Tara (Jasmine’s daughter)] must band together to save Ursula and Jasmine from the dark family curse. Oh, and the town gets visited from snakes every few decades.

And while you in Faith Falls, be sure to stop by the bead shop, Stacy’s Beads, and visit with a friendly and familiar face 🙂

Jessie also wrote  companion novella called “Seven Daughters”. The blurb: Every one of Helena Catalain’s handmade candies carries magic, and that’s a problem for Meredith Gottfridsen. Awakening the 100-year-old feud between her family and the Catalains, Meredith forces peaceful Helena to fight to keep Seven Daughters, her famous candy store, and the beautiful Queen Anne mansion she calls home. When a massive ball of snakes overtakes the town, bringing with it knowledge and fear, Helena realizes the stakes are even higher than she imagined. Brimming with humor and heartbreak, hope and magic, this novella takes readers deeper into the world of the Catalains and Faith Falls, the snug Minnesota town that houses them.

Order “The Catalain Book of Secrets” on Amazon here
Order “Seven Daughters” Novella on Amazon here

Visit Jessie’s website here (P.S. I LOVE her website!!!)
Find her on Facebook here
Follow her on Twitter here


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s