Happy Easter & Updates on Life

To all who celebrate, Happy Easter!!! I hope you have/had a great day filled with family.

Last night, I hit 10,000 words on my WIP!!! Now, this may seem like a minuscule thing, but I am counting it as a milestone. I am doing it! My goal is to finish this WIP by the end of April. And i believe that I can fully accomplish it.

On my Writing Wednesdays blog, I reported that my weekly word goal (Wed-Tue) is 7,000-10,000. And now since I finally started the WW blogs, I am not only holding myself accountable on writing in my planner, but to all of you guys now too. And that really helps motivate me more.

The last few nights, I have been writing until 2-3am. And as I am writing, all I can think is this is what I want to do. I have always been a night owl. I feel most creative in the middle of the night. But with a full-time job, it isn’t possible.

Typical day: I get off at 5:30pm, 30 minute drive brings me to 6:00pm. Get home, eat dinner (and read a few pages of the current book I am reading), walk the pup. So now I’m at 6:45-7pm. Then I shower. From there, if there are any tv shows I watch, the tv goes on, or else I leave it off. Now it’s social media time. I typically start with Instagram (by the way, I HATE the update. I follow people for a reason. I don’t want to sign up for notifications. I get enough notifications in my life. I just want the pics on my timeline. That is why I follow them in the first place.). Then, if it’s a day I know a favorite youtube uploads, I will catch up on some Youtube videos. Then I check Facebook. And then I will check Twitter (but I’ve been slacking on Twitter. I used to check my timeline and go back as far in the day as it would on the app. But now I follow way too many people. So I don’t bother. And I’ve been slacking on the VFF one too. Need to get back to work on that.) So, at this point it’s already between 9-10pm. Then I get started on writing usually between 10-10:30pm. But a lot of times it isn’t until 11pm. On weekends, I only write until 12am (maybe slightly later if I am on a roll). Then it’s bed time.

My main dream and goal is to be able to write full-time. I’m not asking to be famous or be  a millionaire. Just to be able to make a living at it (minimum would be what I currently make – which isn’t a ton. We aren’t in the veterinary field to get rich, that’s for sure). Because then I could make my own hours. I could write in the middle of the night when I feel I am at my best. And maybe I could even have a life.

A certain part of my life for the past few months has been pretty awful for me. Very frustrating. Very emotionally draining. By Wednesdays, I am completely exhausted – physically, mentally, and emotionally. There is one certain person makes it very difficult. I am emotionally and mentally abused. I’m pretty much I’m told that I am not worth a damn (not in those exact words) and that I’m just a stupid little girl. It sucks. So, I try to make this my motivation. To push me. If I want an escape, I need to make my own escape. There are certain circumstance and issues currently at play, and I have surpassed my breaking point for some time now. And I want out now, even though I can’t be out just yet.

I’ve also been trying to read 1 book a week, and have been pretty successful. I will read a few pages at breakfast, a few pages at lunch, and a few pages at supper. If it’s a slow day at work, that is when I get most of my reading in. And if I am hooked, I try to read some at night (usually during a tv show that I wanted to watch, but now has passed by since I am caught up in a book, but that’s ok).

So, I do have a routine. And it seems to be working. I need to switch the focus to more writing. And I am still trying to work on the getting up early to get in more writing, but that hasn’t quite worked yet. I am waking a little bit earlier in the mornings than I used to though. So, there’s a little progress there.

But, I am trying. I am writing, finally serious about it too. And that’s all that matters.

If you have any words of wisdom, or any words of advice, please share them below with a comment.

Keep the Faith (Vince Flynn) & Stay in the Fight (Brad Thor) – ALWAYS!

One comment on “Happy Easter & Updates on Life

  1. I like your schedule! I’m a night owl, too! : ) (Though I’m trying to change that! lol)

    I don’t really have any advice. Thankfully, clearing 10,000 words will give you confidence. And as you get closer to finishing, you’ll get even more excited and probably write faster! (yay!)

    At some point, I’d cut back some on the social media and TV time, and try to put even more toward writing if you can. : )

    Keep pushing!

Leave a Reply

