Support System | Motivational Mondays

Today, instead of a quote, I wanted to discuss a topic: Having a Support System.

I think in anything that you do, whether it’s writing, playing a sport, playing an instrument, singing, painting, drawing, acting, etc, etc, etc, it’s important to have a support system.

This can range from all types of people that are in your life such as parents, siblings, cousins, other family members, friends, teachers, school mates, fellow athletes or club members, and the like.

It’s really important to have people who can help and support you  in making your dreams and goals come true. They can help lift you when you are down. They will be there to help motivate you when you are stuck. They are your cheerleaders. They are your mentors.

Do not listen to anyone who ever tells you that you can’t do something, can’t reach something, can’t obtain something.

This is definitely a topic that is “Do as I say, not as I do.”

I never had a support system (up until pretty much this past year). Sometime in elementary school, every year we would do a “All About Me” thing, and it was pretty much the same questions every year. In the “What do you want to be when you grow up” category, mine was always different every year because I never knew what I wanted to be. It was never anything specific (except for being a writer – in which I never shared). I never shared, because one year (I don’t remember which) when the teacher came by to help us, I told her I wanted to be a writer (I don’t remember if I used that term or said something else) but I remember the teacher basically laughed at me and said something I don’t entirely recall the exact words. So, when I filled in my sheet, I wrote something else.

I think this is where my low self-confidence and fear of sharing my dream of being a writer stems from. That one year. I’ve never shared my dream up until a few years back (at that time with a few friends online – because hey, I don’t know them IRL, and this blog – which I still don’t share any of my writing posts on any social media).

Through my schooling years (middle & high) I was always coming up with characters and ideas, but never finished stories and the such. And I truly believe the experience from that time all those years ago is what affected me. That it was stupid to have this dream of what I wanted to be. It’s funny how one little comment could have such a huge effect on someone.

Over the last 15 years of my working life, when I was at work I’d dream of writing (even taking moments to jot something down), but nothing ever accumulated into any worth. I was stuck in a schedule (granted for about 12 of those years, I worked 7 days a week). I was stuck in a rut. And just in the last month, I have gotten quite serious about it (About Damn Time, Right?!?!). And I am excited. And I am making progress. And that makes me even more excited.

And I do truly believe, since I have never really shared my dream of writing with anyone, I never had a support system. And really, it is no one’s fault but mine (I’m not here to just lay blame on that teacher). But, I was afraid to share. That it was stupid. The I would be made fun of for expressing it. And those feelings still float through my head present time. There’s that little voice in the back of my head that even though I don’t hear it, its presence always lingers.

So, if you are truly passionate about something, share it freely. Share it with everyone. Find a good core group of people that you trust to help push you, be there for you, support you, lift you up, cheer for you, motivate you. And if you don’t feel like you have any people like this in your life, look at forums and groups on the interwebs and social media for like-minded people.

Good Luck! Don’t Be Afraid! Stay True To Yourself! Rise Above! Keep Determined! Follow Your Dreams! Reach Your Goals!

 

Leave a Reply

