3/30/16 – 4/5/16 | Writing Wednesdays

My word count for the week:

3/30/16 – 1,044
3/31/16 – 268
4/1/16 – 1,073
4/2/16 – 1,004
4/3/16 – 575
4/4/16 – 134 + 909 = 1,043
4/5/16 – 1,135
*Total for the week = 6,142

So I didn’t make either goal (writing at least 1,000 words a day, and to try to get 10,000 words for the week) but that’s ok because life happens.

And not to make excuses, I do have some. The first one involving a very stressful day at work in which I ended up taking a nice long walk with my dog, which helped me immensely (mentally and emotionally). And the second one I was busy spending time with some family while celebrating my birthday.

I think I am going to keep these 2 goals as long term goals, but I’m not going to beat myself up about not making them. Because realistically, I just don’t think they are ones I can manage every week, but they can be attainable and I do want to always reach for them and even more.

My main WIP I am currently a little stuck in. I got the basis down and the most important chapters (I think) done and grounded. But I have a long way to go, word count wise, if I want this to be a novel. I’m nearing 20,000 and a novel I believe is 60,000-90,000 on average (if I’m wrong, please tell me).

I have pondered doing a collection of short stories or novella, or separate novellas, but I really want this to be a novel. So, I’ms struggling with what I need to add. I have done some brief descriptions of what I can add, but there is a lot to go.

This main WIP is a Christmas one, so I have had Christmas movies playing the in the background and have been listening to Christmas music as I write. I know it may seem a little crazy since it’s April, but it’s soothing, and helping to motivate me.

So here’s to a productive week ahead!!

Leave a Reply

