Term Limits | Thursday Reads

“Term Limits” by Vince Flynn

TermLimits3(L) Cloak & Dagger Press     (M) Pocket Books     (R) Atria Books

Vince originally self-published this novel because he received rejection letter after rejection letter after rejection letter for it. The book did well and the success of his self-publishing landed him with Simon & Schuster, which would be his home for his entire career.

This book is among the top of my all-time favorite books and is my favorite Vince Flynn novel. I was introduced to the world of Vince Flynn and Mitch Rapp around the time that “American Assassin” came out. (It is a weird situation for me, because I was a fan, even though I hadn’t read any of his novels. I went to one of his signings and the rest is history.) I picked up “Term Limits” and read it and was blown away! Even though Rapp ins’t in this one, it is in the Rapp Universe. I quickly made my way through the series before Kill Shot came out the following year. Since then, TL is my favorite VF book hands down. It could partly be because it was the first book I read by him (which tends to be how things go for me). But, it’s #1.

Prior to this, I had never read any political thriller. My world consisted of YA, the “Murder, She Wrote series,” and popular titles at the time. It totally flipped my world upside down and I have found a love for other political thriller authors (Brad Thor & Brad Taylor, and many others). (Running @VinceFlynnFans on twitter has helped with this due to recommendations by fellow assets)

The blurb:

In one bloody night, three of Washington’s most powerful politicians are executed with surgical precision. Their assassins then deliver a shocking ultimatum to the American government: set aside partisan politics and restore power to the people. No one, they warn, is out of their reach—not even the president. A joint FBI-CIA task force reveals the killers are elite military commandos, but no one knows exactly who they are or when they will strike next. Only Michael O’Rourke, a former US Marine and freshman congressman, holds a clue to the violence: a haunting incident in his own past with explosive implications for his country’s future…

Even though this book came out in 1997, it is still very relevant to today’s world. It’s sometimes hard to just categorize Flynn’s books as fiction, they are more like faction (a mix of ‘fact and fiction’).

I highly recommend any Vince Flynn book. And while Vince is no longer with us, Kyle Mills has currently taken over the series, making it his own, but staying very true to VF and his characters.

Order “Term Limits” on Amazon here

Visit the official Vince Flynn website here
Like VinceFlynn.com on Facebook here

Visit Kyle Mills’ website here
Follow Kyle on Twitter here

Leave a Reply

