Remembering Vince Flynn 2016

3 years….

It’s been 3 years now and Vince Flynn is still greatly missed. And for many, myself included, it feels like it was just yesterday. Hard to believe. I remember the exact moment I found out: It was right before lunch time and I checked my phone, received an email from my Mom stating that Vince had passed away earlier that morning. I sat down, shocked at the news. I scarfed some lunch down, while trying to send a tweet in which the wifi wasn’t being very cooperative. I got something out, as I recall, it wasn’t the most eloquent, but it served a purpose. I then finished up what work was left to do, and I headed home early due to a slow afternoon. I got to my car, and cried. I cried the entire drive home. I cried that night. I cried for a few days. And in those times, when my mind would wander to the “Mitch Rapp is dead too” I would stop myself allowing a selfish thought and refocus on the real issue, those who lost a husband, a father, a son, a brother, an uncle, a cousin, a friend, etc. Vince’s passing hit me hard (like many other fans), I mourned just as though I lost a family member. In a way, even though I only talked to him once in my life, he felt like family due to me running VFF. I wasn’t just a fan, but I felt like a part of the team. My only real regret in life, is that I didn’t pick up a Vince Flynn book a lot sooner!

Life keeps moving on. We’ve lost many others since then. But, they all live on and remain in our hearts.

And some continue to live on through their crafts. What a wonderful thing that is, isn’t it? Vince lives on through his books. With Kyle Mills continuing the Mitch Rapp series, it gives more people the chance to discover the world of Rapp and Flynn. Thus, The Rapp Pack continues to grow and strengthen every day.

So while today is the anniversary of Vince Flynn’s death, which is sad, let’s be happy and thankful that Vince Flynn happened. Remember him not for this day, but …

For the joy he brought us.

For the love he shared.

For Mitch Rapp and 14 books for us to escape into.

Thank You, Vince!

We love you.

We miss you.

Keep The Faith! my friends.

Remembering Vince 2014Remembering Vince 2015

Leave a Reply

